National Flag Of India

Sister Nivedita was the author of the preliminary design for the Indian flag in 1906. Her conception consisted of a Vajra or a thunderbolt as the main symbol with the words Vande Mataram written on it.

Madam Bhikaji Cama unfurled the first Indian flag of freedom in Stuttgart at the socialist congress meeting in the year 1907. Her flag had the sun, the moon, seven stars and the lotus with Vande Matram inscribed on the central white portion.

The national flag of India arrived at its present form through a long process of evolution. There was a lot of debate about the meaning of the India flag before the congress declared in 1931, that its three colours saffron, white and green should represent qualities and not communities.

The country flag of India is presently shown as having three horizontal stripes - saffron, white and green. In the center is a small ‘chakra’ or wheel with 24 spokes. The design of the wheel is based on the emblem, which appears on the Lion capital of Ashok of Sarnath. The Indian flag was made using ‘khadi’ cloth.

It is important to explain the meaning of the three colours when we speak about the India flag. Saffron colour represents courage and sacrifice, white is for peace and truth and green means faith and chivalry. The spinning wheel symbolizes the hope of the Indian masses.

The final design of the Indian flag was approved on 22nd July 1947 by the constituent assembly. This is the design, which is unfurled on all occasions of Indian flag hoisting, to fill the hearts of Indians with patriotism.

A national protocol is supposed to be observed while displaying the national flag in India. The flag is supposed to be hoisted at sunrise and lowered at sunset except in special circumstances. It is also prohibited to show the Indian flag upside down and considered irreverent to keep the flag in a dirty and tattered mode.


Post a Comment


Knowledge Kings Copyright © 2009